- ABC-CLIO E-book Collection
ABC-CLIO E-book collection contains a broad range of e-books covering history, biography, and literature among other topics.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is one of the largest collections of magazines, peer reviewed journals, and newspapers available through the DCCC Library. Its massive collection of articles makes it appropriate for research on most any topic.
- African-American Poetry
African-American Poetry is a searchable collection of nearly 3,000 poems by African-American poets of the 18th and 19th centuries.
- American Poetry
American Poetry is a searchable collection of poetry by American poets from the Colonial Period to the early 20th century.
- American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography
American Slavery: A Composite Authobiography is a searchable collection of oral and written slave narratives.
ArchiveGrid provides access to detailed archival collection descriptions, making information available about historical documents, personal papers, family histories, and other archival materials. It also provides contact information for the institutions where the collections are kept.
- Art & Architecture Complete
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
For researchers, ArticleFirst contains descriptions on the table of contents of journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, and the humanities.
- Auto Repair Reference Center
Auto Repair Reference Center is a searchable collection of schematics, diagrams, and other repair information for automobiles dating back to 1945.
- Biography Reference Center
More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
- Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is a searchable collection of articles from various business publications. It provides business news articles, information on companies and industries, information about stocks and markets, as well as detailed financial information.
CAMIO is a searchable collection rights-cleared, high-quality art images from museums around the world. CAMIO images are licensed to be be used for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course websites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.
CampusWest is a searchable collection of both primary (cases, statutes, codes, constitutions) and secondary publications (encyclopedia, legal commentary, journals and guides) in law. More specifically, Campus West provides access to federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFRs), the Federal Register (July, 1980-present), state administrative codes and statutes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) & index covering 2nd-5th and federal series, and 900+ current law journals and reviews.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
The Chronicle of Higher Education provides information on higher education issues. Special features include access to the current issue and back issues of the Chronicle as well as the Almanac of Higher Education. Must access content via a computer or mobile device connected to the Davidson or Davie campus networks.
- CINAHL (with full-text)
CINAHL stands for Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL provides access to many different types of resources including health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Indexes for Latin American scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and technology.
- Company Profiles
10,000 company profiles from Datamonitor, including U.S., European, and Asian companies.
- Consumer Health Complete
Information on aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, and more.
- CQ Researcher Online
Pronounced SEE-Que, CQ Researcher provides unbiased information on controversial topics and current events. CQ Researcher is the best place to begin if you research a topic which is considered controversial. CQ Researcher searchable collection of unbiased reports provides statistics, information on relevant legislation relating to your issue, a timeline of significant events that relate to your issues, as well as other resources that provide more information on your topic.
- CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly is a searchable collection of weekly reports about congressional issues. CQ Weekly provides information such as the status of proposed bills, congressional committee activity, current debates, and all roll-call votes.
- eBooks on EBSCOhost
Over 26,000 fiction, reference, scholarly, and professional books online.
- English Poetry
English Poetry is a searchable collection of English poetry from 600 to 1900.
- Entrepreneurial Studies Source
Covers topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business, including key periodicals, reference books, case studies, company profiles and 600+ videos with transcripts from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
- Environment Complete
Journals on topics including agriculture, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, urban planning, and more.
- ERIC (Education)
ERIC stands for Educational Resources Information Center. ERIC is searchable collection of journals, newsletters, research papers, and government publications that focus on education. ERIC provides access to a wide variety of information and artifacts including statistics, multilingual lesson and unit plans, peer reviewed articles, tests, nonprint media and more.
- Faber Poetry Library
The Faber Poetry Library is a searchable collection of poetry by some of the most influential poets of the 20th century including T.S. Elliot, Thom Gunn, Sylvia Plath, Seamus Heaney and more.
- Films On Demand
Films on Demand: Master Academic Collection. This online collection is composed of over 15,500 feature films, documentaries, and series from publishers such as PBS, BBC, the History Channel, NOVA, National Geographic, Frontline and many more.
- Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Good resource for an overview of a topic: covers topics such as presidents, history, science, and literature.
- Gale InfoTrac Newsstand
InfoTrac Newsstand includes full text access to the New York Times (1985-present) as well as many other resources including The Economist and USA Today. It also includes selective or full text coverage of several North Carolina newspapers.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a searchable collection of encyclopedias that focus on specific subjects. Some of the titles included in the collection are the Encyclopedia of Children and Childhood in History and Society, Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health, Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Foods and Recipes of the World, and Animal Sciences.
U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments.
GreenFILE is a collection of ebooks, magazines, journals, essays, and government documents focusing on the environment, sustainability, global warming, climate change, and ecology.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
There are two editions of Health Source: the Consumer Edition and the Nursing/Academic Edition. The Consumer Edition provides easy-to-understand information from health magazines, medical reference books, and public health resources. This resource is appropriate for anyone researching a health or medical subject.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
There are two editions of Health Source: the Consumer Edition and the Nursing/Academic Edition. The Nursing/Academic Edition provides information from health magazines, peer-reviewed journals, medical reference books, and professional associations. This resource is appropriate for health professionals, nursing students, and researchers looking for information on health or medical subjects.
HeritageQuest is a searchable collection of books and data for tracing family history and the history of American culture.
- HomeGrown eBook Collection
The collection of more than 1,200 fiction and nonfiction titles pulls together eBooks from eight North Carolina publishers.
- Image Search
Search for articles with images - including charts, photos, maps, and illustrations.
Search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, location, and other criteria to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.
- Job & Career Accelerator
Job & Career Accelerator provides job seekers access to current job and internship listings, resume and cover letter building software, job interview techniques, occupational profiles, and career interest assessments.
- Kids Search
Kid Search is a colorful, fun website through which elementary school students can search age-appropriate collections of magazines, encyclopedias, images, and nonprint media.
- LearningExpress Library
Learning Express Library is a collection of practice tests for various certification tests such as the ASVAB, SAT, GRE, TOEFL, Praxis I, and many more. Learning Express Library also provides tutorials for those that need to practice skills such as reading, arithmetic, and writing.
- Legal Information Reference Center
Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Provides coverage on subjects such as librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more.
- Literary Reference Center Plus
Literary Reference Center is a searchable collection comprised of literary criticism, scholarly articles, biographies, short stories, and poems.
- Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center provides access to literary criticism, author biographies, plot summaries & work overviews, full-text essays from leading publishers, literary reference books & monographs, cover-to-cover full text for literary magazines & journals, book reviews from the most prestigious publications, poems from hundreds of sources, short stories, classic texts, and author interviews.
- MAS Complete
Mas Ultra-School Edition is a searchable collection of encyclopedias, almanacs, and other reference sources written for high school students.
- MasterFILE Complete
MasterFile Premier is a searchable collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus is a searchable collection of encyclopedias and almanacs written for students in middle school.
- Military & Government Collection
Military & Government Collection is a searchable collection of military related journals, magazines, and other publications.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center
Morningstar Investment Research Center is a collection of resources concerning investments, industries, stocks, and mutual funds. Morningstar Investment Research Center provides stock analysis, industry trends, and up-to-date market information.
MyiLibrary is a searchable collection of ebooks. Its massive collection of ebooks makes it appropriate for research on most any topic.
- NC LIVE Video Collection
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns documentaries, Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
- Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source Plus is a searchable collection of national and international newspapers.
- North American Women's Letters and Diaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries is a searchable collection of letters and diaries written by women from Colonial times to 1950.
- NoveList K-8 Plus
NoveList K-8 is a resource for young readers of popular fiction. It provides book reviews, reading guides, and makes recommendations based on a reader's interests for students grades k through eight.
- NoveList Plus Plus
NoveList is a resource for readers of popular fiction. It provides book reviews, reading guides, and makes recommendations based on a reader's interests.
Catalog of digital books, articles, audiofiles, images, and more.
- One Click Audio
Downloadable audio books on a variety of topics, including language learning, history, biography, classic literature, and more. Compatible with most iPods and WMA compatible MP3 players.
- Ovid Nursing Community College Basic Journal Collection
This collection provides online access to seven nursing-related journals: AJN: American Journal of Nursing, Home Healthcare Nurse, Medical/Surgical Insider Supplement, Men in Nursing, Nursing, Nursing Critical Care, and Nursing Made Incredibly Easy.
- Points of View
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Covers more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
- Primary Search (Children's Magazines)
Primary Search is a searchable collection of magazines written for children.
Comprehensive resource containing citations (not full articles) to biomedical articles and life science journals.
- Reference USA
ReferenceUSA is a massive directory providing information on companies and residential homes. With regard to businesses, ReferenceUSA provides contact and financial information on parent companies and their subsidiaries. Residential listings provide contact information and home value estimates.
- Regional Business News
Regional Business News is a searchable collection of journals, magazines, and newspapers covering businesses in the United States.
- Salud en Español
Base de datos con información de salud, organizada por tema y/o enfermedades.
- Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Sanborn Maps for North Carolina provides digital access to historical maps of North Carolina towns and cities.
- Science Reference Center
Science encyclopedias, reference books, and magazines covering biology, chemistry, earth & space science, life science, physics, and more.
Searchasaurus is a colorful, fun website through which elementary and middle school students can search age-appropriate collections of magazines, encyclopedias, images, and nonprint media.
- Serials Directory
Serials Directory is a searchable price guide for popular magazines and other serials.
- Simply Map
Web-based mapping application that lets you create professional-quality maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data.
- Small Business Reference Center
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes business lectures and ‘how to’ videos, as well as state-specific resources.
- Small Engine Repair Reference Center
Detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines such as outdoor power equipment, tractors, boats, motorcycles, and more.
- Student Research Center (SRC)
Student Research Center is a collection of books, reference works, magazines, images, and nonprint media written for middle school and high school students.
- Teacher Reference Center
Teacher Reference Center is a searchable collection of journals, magazines, and nonprint media covering public education, teaching, and administration. Teacher Reference Center provides lesson and unit plan ideas, best practices, and articles on discipline specific teaching.
Current events, controversial issues, and discussion topics including energy and environment, gay rights, global warming, gun control, immigration, and human rights.
- Twentieth Century African-American Poetry
Twentieth Century American Poetry is a searchable collection of poetry by contemporary African-American poets.
- Twentieth Century American Poetry
Twentieth Century American Poetry is a searchable collection of poetry by contemporary American poets.
- Twentieth-Century English Poetry
Twentieth-Century English Poetry is a searchable collection of poetry by contemporary English poets.
- Wall Street Journal
This searchable collection contains Wall Street Journal articles from from 1984 to the present.
Westlaw Campus provides access to both primary (cases, statutes, codes, constitutions) and secondary publications (encyclopedia, legal commentary, journals, and guides) in law. More specifically, access federal and state case law, the United States Code Annotated (USCA), the Code of Federal Regulations (CFRs), the Federal Register (July, 1980-present), state administrative codes and statutes, American Jurisprudence 2d (law encyclopedia), American Law Reports (ALR) & index covering 2nd-5th and federal series, and 900+ current law journals and reviews.
WorldCat is a searchable library catalog of libraries worldwide. This resource is useful for locating items, books, articles, nonprint media, and other artifacts available at other libraries.